Happy Thanksgiving!

Last Thursday, I experienced my first Thanksgiving ever!

Thanksgiving is probably the most important holiday in the US, and it takes place every 4th Thursday in November. Originally, it was the day to celebrate the thank for the  blessing of the harvest.

IMAG0233.jpg

I was really excited because I knew that my host parents would invite many people, and I heard so much good stuff about the food!

IMAG0243.jpg

My first Thanksgiving experience started on Tuesday when I asked my host mum if she needed some help in the kitchen. I ended up peeling 4 pounds of Pearl Onions. I couldn’t remember when I cried this much the last time! It went on with preparing the turkey, cutting more onions for the stuffing and baking Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes.

Screenshot_20161126-151520.png

Day we went to the Blessing of the Hounds in Keswick, where some of my friends did the Foxhunt. It was nice to see all the horses and hounds, and that people still care about those old traditions.

IMAG0230.jpg

After the Blessing the whole Family went back home, and we set up the last tables and decorations. Then, finally, the Thanksgiving Dinner! So much good food!  I did not try the turkey, because I am vegetarian but it looked amazing! I  totally enjoyed my first Thanksgiving and I am already sad, because I know I wont have a Thanksgiving next year.

IMAG0235.jpg


Leave a comment